up close — early spring planting

Today is the first day of spring, my favorite season. In anticipation of the season, I planted some early buds in my flower box …

fiery pansies

image

cool violas

image

and creamy primulas

image

Hopefully, my neighborhood squirrels won’t attack them. (Apparently they love storing their food around my plants; once, I even found a buried slice of bread!)

We’re also working on some bigger yard projects. Right now, it’s a weedy mess, but we’re doing some much needed landscaping, as well as planting a vegetable garden and our currently potted fig tree. Our house was built in 1920, so we’re hoping to plant some heirlooms from that period. (See, anything can be vintage.) I’m incredibly excited and will be sure to post some before and after shots once it’s done.

Happy First Day of Spring!

Nicole

One response

  1. Hey Nicole,
    Good luck with the planting! I’m particularly excited about the vegetable garden, I’m hoping to plant a few veggies myself this year. Your blog is really cool!

Leave a Reply

