a cabinet, a girl, and a dream

I recently visited the weekly preview at one of my favorite DC auction houses. I anticipated a nice mix of vintage dressers, desks, and silver, but was unexpectedly taken by this pale green Dutch baroque china cabinet. It’s huge, and with its worn gilt trim and faded fabric backing, is a bit fussier than what I usually go for. But with some tweaking, I think it would look perfect in a big country kitchen, filled with vintage ironstone and porcelain. It would also work beautifully as part of a display in a really cool store.

image

Alas, we don’t have that kind of space in our house and I don’t own a brick and mortar store (though I do think about it — a lot), so didn’t bother to place a bid. I’ll just have to let this beauty pass … for now.

Happy hunting!

Nicole

3 responses

Leave a Reply

